New Music: Landing – “Complekt”

New Music: Landing – “Complekt”

Spread the love

In a warm, smooth space between shoegaze and ambient music lie New Haven, Connecticut quartet Landing, longtime space-rock practitioners with nine studio albums behind them and a tenth, Complekt, just ahead. At the core of the group is married couple Adrienne Snow (vocals) and Aaron Snow (guitar, synth, vocals), accompanied by Daron Gardner (bass) and John Miller (drums, guitar, synth). Since 1999, they’ve honed a mixture of heady guitar swirls, echoey drums, and flicking, looping synths.

Landing spend much of their latest album bobbing in the outer reaches of shoegaze atmospherics, and the title track serves as the liftoff. Crisscrossed by howls of reverb, “Complekt” is an energetic high point that powers down in a cascade of Moog-y, sci-fi wiggles.

Complekt, the follow-up to 2013’s Wave Lair, is out November 18 from boutique vinyl label These Are Not Records. Below, see the album art and track list and watch the video for “Complekt,” a trippy collage of space-age science documentary throwbacks.

Complekt track list:

1. “Light”
2. “Complekt”
3. “Weft”
4. “Shifts”
5. “Thither”
6. “Grow”
7. “Clouds II”
8. “World”

Leave a comment

Recent Posts

Tune-Yards – “Look At Your Hands”

It’s been a little while since we’ve heard from Tune-Yards—their last album was 2014’s Nikki Nack—but today Merrill Garbus has shared a new single, “Look At Your Hands.” It comes alongside the announcement ...

Read More

Kris Wu – “Deserve” ft. Travis Scott

Kris Wu, a former member of top Korean-Chinese boyband EXO, has made himself a household name amongst Chinese youth through numerous blockbusters and songs for their respective soundtracks. He dipped his toes into the American entertainment industry through ...

Read More